New Pro Bowl selection explainer

Pro Bowl rosters selected by Michael Irvin and Cris Carter:

Last year, the NFL did away with the AFC vs. NFC format and began using "captains" to oversee a fantasy draft to fill out the teams. In 2014, Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders were the honorary captains, with this year's choices being Hall of Fame receivers Michael Irvin and Cris Carter.

In other words, they took the one thing fans can control about the sport, choosing the team in the game that means nothing, and gave that responsibility back to millionaires.

Besides the dozens of other terrible things about the NFL, this is the most NFL thing I’ve heard all week.

Adam Keys @therealadam